Liked on YouTube: Becoming a Brewmaster is Difficult, Dangerous, and Definitely Worth It


Introducing a new limited video series from Eater about Garrett Oliver, brewmaster at Brooklyn Brewery and notable beer author. Oliver’s first person account is matched with hand-drawn animations to tell the story of a brewmaster in training, and what it means to risk it all to pursue one’s passion.

For part two of this series, click here:

— — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — 

Eater is the one-stop-shop for food and restaurant obsessives across the country. With features, explainers, animations, recipes, and more — it’s the most indulgent food content around. So get hungry.

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel now!

via Becoming a Brewmaster is Difficult, Dangerous, and Definitely Worth It

New French law makes it illegal to email employees after work hours


Nothing can ruin a relaxing weekend or holiday like an email from the office. Even if there’s no need to take action until Monday, the unwanted intrusion of professional life can really suck the joy out of a Sunday afternoon bar-b-que. That’s why the country that’s famous for giving its employees 30 days off a year and 16 weeks of full-paid family leave, just made itself even cooler with its new “right to disconnect” law.

Now, in France, if you’re a company of 50 employees or more, you cannot email an employee after typical work hours. The amendment has come about because studies show that in the digital age it’s become increasingly difficult for people to distance themselves from the workplace during their off hours. This new law allows people to get the full advantage of their time off.

“All the studies show there is far more work-related stress today than there used to be, and that the stress is constant,” Benoit Hamon of the French National Assembly told the BBC. “Employees physically leave the office, but they do not leave their work. They remain attached by a kind of electronic leash— like a dog. The texts, the messages, the emails — they colonize the life of the individual to the point where he or she eventually breaks down.”

The new law stipulates that companies negotiate policies that limit the spillover of work into their employees’ private lives. Although there are no penalties for companies that violate the amendment, companies are to establish “charters of good conduct” that specify the times which employees are free from being digitally connected to their workplaces. This right to disconnect amendment was passed as part of a controversial French labor law that some say will weaken unions and enhance employee job insecurity. The digital disconnect amendment was the one part of the law that’s been viewed favorably by the French public. 



via The Loop

Liked on YouTube: Cooks: “You won’t Instagram my food, but you’ll eat it.” | This Is That | CBC


This is That’s new series Cooks goes into the mind of cook Trev Daley of Classy’s Bar & Grill to find out why he thinks frozen chicken fingers are the perfect food.
Watch Full Episodes of This is That:

About This is That: This is That is a current affairs program that doesn’t just talk about the issues, it fabricates them. Nothing’s off limits–politics, business, culture, justice, science, religion–if it’s relevant to Canadians, we’ll find out the “This” and the “That” of the story. Each week, hosts Pat Kelly and Peter Oldring will introduce you to the voices that give this country character and through these stories provide a new perspective as to what it means to live in Canada.

Stay Connected:

About CBC: Welcome to the official YouTube channel for CBC, Canada’s public broadcaster. CBC is dedicated to creating content with original voices that inspire and entertain. Watch sneak peeks and trailers, behind the scenes footage, original web series, digital-exclusives and more.

Connect with CBC Online:

Cooks: “You won’t Instagram my food, but you’ll eat it.” | This Is That | CBC

via Cooks: “You won’t Instagram my food, but you’ll eat it.” | This Is That | CBC

Liked on YouTube: How to Make Ravioli With Fonde: The Ravioli Rolling Pin, Perfected.


Simple, beautiful and sustainable: anyone can make perfect ravioli from scratch with the Fonde rolling pin.

Whether you’re mingling with dinner guests, cooking with family or just craving something fresh; making delicious ravioli by hand is easy, fun and relaxing. The best part is that everyone can get involved, all you need is the Fonde rolling pin and your countertop.

via How to Make Ravioli With Fonde: The Ravioli Rolling Pin, Perfected.

Liked on YouTube: How to make authentic Neapolitan pizza at home


In this video I will outline the entire process, ingredients, recipes and techniques that I use to make authentic Neapolitan pizza at home.

Amazon links to equipment & ingredients:
Blackstone Pizza Oven:
Blackstone Cover:
GI Metal Pizza Peel:
KitchenAid Pro 600 Mixer:
Proofing Box:
Proofing Box Cover:
Proofing Tub:
Proofing Tub Lid:
Ischia Yeast:

Antimo Caputo 00 Pizzeria Flour:
(5 pounds):
(9 pounds):
(12 pounds):
(16 pounds):
(20 pounds):
(55 pounds):

via How to make authentic Neapolitan pizza at home